Michigan Modern: An Architectural Legacy

  • Presented By: The Dennos Museum Center
  • Dates: September 22, 2020 - January 31, 2021
  • Recurrence: Recurring daily
  • Location: The Dennos Museum Center
  • Northwestern Michigan College Campus, 1410 College Dr
  • Traverse City, MI 49686
  • Price: $6 for Adults, $4 for Children 17 and under, and Free for Children 3 and under, Dennos Museum Center members, and NMC students and faculty
  • (231) 995-1055
  • About

    This exhibit celebrates Michigan’s incredible modern architectural design history from 1928 through 2012. It is comprised of over 50 photographs by James Haefner primarily for the State Historic Preservation Office as part of their Michigan Modern Project and featured in the book by State Historic Preservation Officer, Brian Conway, titled Michigan Modern: An Architectural Legacy. Several additional photographs from Mr. Haefner’s archives are included. The buildings photographed were selected to represent the best modern architecture in all areas of the state focusing on the work of Michigan architects as well as internationally known architects who completed commissions in Michigan.

    Michigan’s architecture is broad in style and rich in significance. The confluence of industry, education and architecture in Michigan in the early twentieth century put the state at the center of the development of Modern architecture. The exhibition includes images of Michigan masterworks of modern architects such as Eliel Saarinen, Eero Saarinen, Minoru Yamasaki, Alexander Girard, Walter Dorwin Teague, George Nelson, Kevin Roche, Robert Metcalf , William Muschenheim, William Kessler, Frank Lloyd Wright, Alden B. Dow, Perceval Goodman, Gunnar Birkerts, Oskar Stonorov, Dirk Lohan, Robert Schwartz, William Wesley Peters, The Architects Collaborative, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Marcel Breuer, and Richard Meier. The tradition of architectural innovation and excellence continued into the twenty-first century represented by photographs of buildings designed by Anderson and Anderson, Steven Sivak, and Zaha Hadid.