69.0°

Traverse City

Request Travel Info

Events Calendar

Sign up for our Newsletter

Trip Planner

You have 0 items in your Trip Planner.

Trip Planner

Current Weather

69.0° A Few Clouds

Check out what other travelers say about Traverse City on TripAdvisor.
is14-1376938206-54497.jpeg

About Traverse City

Time

Michigan is on Eastern Standard Time, sharing that time zone with cities and states on the east coast of the United States. With the rest of Michigan, Traverse City moves to Eastern Daylight Time from April through October each year, jumping ahead one hour ("spring forward") the first Sunday in April, and moving back one hour ("fall back") on the last Sunday in October. Thanks to Traverse City's northern position on the 45th parallel and its location on the western edge of the Eastern time zone, it enjoys daylight well into the evening hours throughout the spring and summer.

Sales Taxes

Michigan's sales tax rate is 6 percent. Food and prescription drugs are exempt. A 5 percent lodging assessment is levied on overnight room rentals in the region.

Operator, Directory Assistance

Operator assisted calls can be made by dialing 0 + area code + seven-digit phone number. Directory assistance is available by calling 0 + area code + 555-1212. Toll-free numbers use the prefixes 800, 888, 877 or 222. Emergency assistance is available by calling 911. Maritime assistance is available by calling the United States Coast Guard Station in Traverse City at (231) 922-8222.

Liquor Laws

The legal drinking age in Michigan is 21. Alcohol (whether beer, wine or liquor) cannot be sold on Sundays before noon. Taverns must cease serving alcohol at 2 a.m. and must close by 2:30 a.m.

Smoking

The legal smoking age in Michigan is 18. All state offices and many public and private businesses prohibit smoking.

Travel to Canada

United States and Canadian Citizens -- Either a passport, passport card, Nexus card (frequent visitors from U.S. to Canada) or an enhanced drivers license is required to cross the border. Visitors to Canada for less than 48 hours may bring back up to $200 in merchandise and four ounces of liquor duty free; those staying more than 48 hours may bring back up to $400 in merchandise and one liter of alcohol duty free. Travelers may take their dogs and cats to Canada if they have a certificate issued by a licensed Canadian or U.S. veterinarian showing that the animal has been vaccinated against rabies during the previous 36 months. Puppies and kittens under 3 months of age, and seeing-eye dogs, may be taken to Canada without certification or other restrictions.